Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NPC threats
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
IceKatze
hi hi

I have something of a dilemma and I was wondering if perhaps I could get some advice. I'm a veteran GM with other systems and I've played Shadowrun enough to know the basics. Recently an important player left a different campaign I was running and people didn't want to continue without him and several of the remaining players requested Shadowrun for the new campaign.

This normally wouldn't be a problem except that some of them have been playing Shadowrun since 2nd edition while I barely caught the tail end of 3rd, and needless to say, when the players have a vastly larger pool of knowledge about a setting then the GM... well, it can pose particular challenges.

The campaign has a relatively large scope in the form an ever more challenging series of seemingly unconnected runs set to the backdrop of a new VITAS-3 outbreak that has Seattle quarantined from the rest of the world and brutally escalating geopolitical tensions. However, to pull this off, I need to invent a seriously thorough range NPC actors, from nuyenless street thugs to a defcon 3 UCAS military alert. I'm cruising along with the unorthodox elements ((though I must lament the 4th ed vehicle building/customization rules in spite of vehicle combats new ease of use)) however, there are certain archetypal threats that I know my players will be expecting and I have no idea what they're typically supposed to be. I don't need stats or anything, just some thematic guidance.