Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tweaking the Rules (SR4 p69)
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
jklst14
Hey all,
I'm trying to cut down the rolls in combat and was thinking about implementing this tweak from SR4 p69:

To cut down on dice rolling during combat, you could drop Damage Resistance Tests entirely, reducing combat to a single Opposed Test. In this case, Armor would deduct directly from the attack's DV.

Has anyone tried this? And if so, does it work?

thanks,

jkl
Warlordtheft
It over powers armor IMHO, as all but the most leathal attacks (AKA sniper rounds and higher) would bounce off. You would have to drop some of the armor values to make it work.

Case in point-heavy pistol base damage does not exceed the armor of a an armor jacket (even after the armor mods).

An assault rifle and smg on SA is in the same boat.
KCKitsune
Even worse when you stack in FFBA. I have a combat mage with 10/7 armor... on a human combat mage. Think of what a troll sammy with bone lacing, orthoskin, and then armor on top of that... you need cannons (TANK cannons) to even hurt the slot... that rule WAAAAAAY to over powers armor.
BlueMax
QUOTE (jklst14 @ Feb 15 2009, 07:43 PM) *
Hey all,
I'm trying to cut down the rolls in combat and was thinking about implementing this tweak from SR4 p69:

thanks,

jkl

I have tried it for a few nights. It's very reminiscent of First Edition Shadowrun and makes things faster as proclaimed. However, I find it lacking. So, for me it was a no go.

A good bastard half breed is to keep the Body part of the roll that would be applied if there was anything left after the auto armor. Then it would really remind me of first ed.

As the game system cannot possibly be designed and tested for every variant, we play as close to the rules as we can.
Mäx
QUOTE (jklst14 @ Feb 16 2009, 05:43 AM) *
Hey all,

thanks,

jkl