Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Melee vs Unarmed
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Montecka
Hi.
I am new to SR4 and I am reading up on combat right now.
According to the core rules of SR4, can a defender in melee use Unarmed Combat to defend against a melee weapon?

bmcoomes
Yes, but most likely the unarmed defender will be at a disadvantage.
KCKitsune
I think so, but if I were GMing the fight, then the player wanting to defend had better have something like brass knuckles or hardliner gloves. Otherwise he's going to be in a world of hurt.
Uli
Well it is possible to defend yourself unarmed against an armed aggressor without getting injured. It's just damn difficult. If you want, you kann reduce the defender's skill, but I wouldn't complicate the system any further. Obviously everyone is learning self-defense against weapons. wink.gif
Dakka Dakka
QUOTE (bmcoomes @ Apr 3 2009, 10:16 AM) *
Yes, but most likely the unarmed defender will be at a disadvantage.
Unless the attacker uses a knife or brass knuckles he get's +1 per point of net reach. Not exactly a disadvantage for the defender but an advantage for the attacker. But from a mechanics point of view this is better.
bmcoomes
same deference you got want I meant. smile.gif
Dakka Dakka
Not exactly a negative modifier on the defender would increase the probability of glitches for him. The way it is by RAWthe glitch probability decreases for the attacker. I like it.
Montecka
Thanks for the quick replies smile.gif

It looks like you are all agreeing that the rule says that you can use R+UC vs a melee weapon attack.

I really just wanted to know the official core rule for this and I totally agree that this might not hyperrealistic.

Caadium
QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Apr 3 2009, 12:47 AM) *
Not exactly a negative modifier on the defender would increase the probability of glitches for him. The way it is by RAWthe glitch probability decreases for the attacker. I like it.