Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Verifying Fake SIN's/Licenses - how?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
CraftZero
I'm a newbie to SR4A, so any help you can offer is appreciated.

When a character uses a Fake SIN or license, the rules state that it's an opposed test against the rating of the verification system. Where are the stats for the verification system..? Considering how often a persons' SIN must interact with the world, how often do you as the GM make those tests? How often should a 'Runner go through SIN's/Licenses?

Thank you!
CodeBreaker
The way I ran it as a GM is not quite RAW, but I found it worked out quite well. I had it so that most actions had a SIN check. Buying something from the Stuffer Shack? Potential Test. Getting on a Bus? Potential Test.

But what I changed was the way detection actually worked. Instead of rolling every time I looking at the Verification Device Rating. If the rating of the checker was equal to or higher than the Fake SIN then I asked for a roll. If the checkers rating was less than the Fake SINs rating then I didnt.

This basically meant that with a decent Fake SIN catching a Bus to get about town isnt going to cause any problems, neither will buying a burger. But if you walk about with a crappy Rating 1 Fake SIN it might. It also means that a Fake SIN being checked by the police if your pulled over has a chance of being detected as a fake simply because they use more indepth checking.
CraftZero
QUOTE (CodeBreaker @ Jun 9 2009, 01:17 PM) *
The way I ran it as a GM is not quite RAW, but I found it worked out quite well. I had it so that most actions had a SIN check. Buying something from the Stuffer Shack? Potential Test. Getting on a Bus? Potential Test.