Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Metagame issues with character behavior
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3
TeknoDragon
As noted in previous posts, I'm quite new to Shadowrun. I may have partly put myself in this situation by making assumptions about the style of the game. I'd figured on moderately amoral, hopefully anti-hero play, much like the characters both here, in the SR4A sample fiction, and the novels of years past.

The problem I had in the game last night went like this: There was a guy that the team thought had necessary info; the team did a messy grab off the street, took the target to an abandoned warehouse, and proceeded to attempt to interrogate him. My character stayed out of the interrogation. One character then said something about getting his friend (another character) to torture the target.

The target... I don't need to go into details; he's currently alive, and 'only' slightly maimed. The team did not gain useful information, nor was there information worth getting from the target. Not worth the price paid.

In character? Mine verbally tore his companions up one side and down the other; even a combat hacker is not going to be able to physically stop two allies who are much better at killing people than he is. Hell, my hacker was the only one to do anything 'good cop', as in feeding the target, etc.

Out of character, I told the group, truthfully, that I was very close to taking my dice and going home. The group is all adults, late 20's or older. The GM is perfectly willing to let players do things like this, though the other players apparently are ignoring the hints about reputation as well as the degrading ethical quality of the team's jobs. This is not the game I thought I'd be playing, especially given how the other players (and GM) have played D&D as well.