Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sneaky little drone
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Ghremdal
During a recent run where we had to infiltrate a security center of a mall and get some data, I got a idea to equip a drone with some Neurostun, have it crawl through the ventilation shafts and disperse the gas on the unsuspecting guards. Due to time constraints we had to abandon that plan, but that got me thinking on how to modify a drone to be a effective air duct crawler.

The drone should be able to do these things:
-deliver several doses of a gas based toxin
-be able to deal with security (laser trip beams, motion detectors, cameras)
-be able to deal with mundane hazards (fans, high temperatures, grates)
-and be relatively silent

is it possible to do these things with a drone, preferably a microdrone. A team of drones would work as well. I am not very experienced in modding drones, but would a smoke projector work to deliver the toxin?
AndyZ
A smoke projector will work if and only if the GM allows it. If the GM doesn't allow it, the Termination System (Enhanced) will freeze the drone up and release the gas, and then unfreeze the drone when another signal is sent.

Drones are also rather naturally relatively silent.

As for dealing with all the other stuff, though, you're pretty much out of luck. However, you could up the Response and System ratings of the microdrone to 5, put a level 5 agent on there with a number of hacking programs and let the agent take out the security. Mundane hazards you really have no chance.

I think you'll like C-12 Dragonflies. For 2500 nuyen you can fly them straight into a place wherever you want, get them right on target and then detonate them with the stats of a high explosive grenade. Expensive but you never know when you'll need one.
kjones
Is this a drone that you are hoping to operate autonomously, or will there be a rigger behind this thing?
Udoshi