A mage may not summon a spirit of greater force than his Magic attribute *2. However this caveat is not repeated under the binding rules. Normally this would not be an issue since bound spirits must be summoned first and are thus limited by that rule. However since increaing a Ally Spirits force requires an additional "Binding" test in the form of the ritual of renewal it bypasses the summoning limitation.
The Question is can an ally spirit's Force be increased beyond the Magic * 2 threshold with the ritual of renewal. By current RAW it seems to be the case, however I would like to get the developers input on the intent of this rule. Whenever possible I like to operate under the "Spirit of the Law" rather than the "Letter of the Law" in my games. If this has been addressed somewhere please give me a book and page reference or a forum link.
Thanks for your help.