Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Please help...rules question
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
galvatron42
I'm currently helping my friend make his character for Gencon. While buying skills, he wanted to take dodge. I told him that dodge only works against melee attacks, but then he showed me that one of the specializations listed under the dodge skill is for ranged attacks. So how does that work? Can you use dodge against a ranged attack if you have specialized in it, or is it an error in the book? I checked the SR4A changes document and there is nothing mentioned about changes to defending against ranged attacks. Also of note, I have very little experience with the system and he has never played, so we are pretty close to lost. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Gamer6432
By RAW as I understand it, Ranged Defense is Reaction. Full Ranged Defense is Reaction + Dodge. Melee Defense is Reaction + Dodge. Full Melee Defense is Reaction + Dodge + Dodge.
Udoshi
Yeah, uh, dodge works against everything, dude.

In defending against RANGED
....you roll reaction. (this is why guns are deadly. Its stat+skill+smartlink vs one attribute alone)

in defending against MELEE
Its Reaction + Dodge(dodge) OR Block(Unarmed) OR Parry(weaponskill)

Additionally, Full Defense ADDS the following options to the above. Yes, a full parry adds weapon skill twice.
Dodge OR Parry(weapon skill or unarmed) OR Gymnastics(Full Defense is the only way to get Gymdodge going).

Hope that answers things.

Additionally, dodge is specifically called out when rigging/driving.
galvatron42
That helps a bunch. Thanks. Another question, does full defense take your entire turn, or can you change it on your next initiative pass. Example, I have 3 initiative passes from enhanced reflexes. I attack on my first pass, full defense on my second pass, and attack again on my 3rd pass. Or am I locked into full defense on each pas I have that turn. Thanks again!
Glyph