Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowrun's Dystopia: Active or Passive?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
suoq
Note: I don't view Shadowrun as a Dystopia. I find it a reflection of our times, no better, no worse. I graduated high school in 1984 (and found Shadowrun then a reflection of those times). My parents grew up in the Great Depression. Your mileage may vary.

That being said, assuming you find Shadowrun or parts of Shadowrun a dystopia, do you feel it's an active dystopia, where the actions of the powerful are deliberately trying to assert control over the masses or do you find it's a passive dystopia, where the powerful simply doesn't care about the masses.

Things to consider might be:
1) Do the powerful fear the masses?
2) Do the powerful react to the demands of the masses or do the powerful only appear to react to the demands of the masses or do the powerful clearly not care.
3) Do the masses fear the powerful?
4) Is that fear realistic?
5) Bread? Circuses?
Yerameyahu
No need for the inaccurate Apple/Microsoft analogy. wink.gif
BookWyrm
While SR1 does have that 'dystopian future' feel to it, I feel that the game (and thus the story) have evolved with the times.

Currently, I look at it as a combination of the factors you mention. The rich & powerful are, at best, mindful, and at worst, afraid of the unknown, when it comes to the 'masses' at large. Few, if any, have learned the lessons provided by such events as The Night of Rage, but know more recent history (the Crash 2.0, the emergence of technomancers & the subsequent paranoia) can repeat itself and impact not just those below, but just as much as those above.
The will of a small group, in the right position, can affect the larger masses, much like a snowball rolling downhill. But conversely, get enough outspoken minds together, and that ivory tower can topple just as easilly.