Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Enemy Perception Rolls?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Explosive Donut!
I'm new to Shadow Run, and I have made my character stealth based. He has a sound supressor, which I noticed gives a -4 to enemy perception rolls on finding the shooter, but it never explained if there was something to be rolled against their perception in combat. Is nothing rolled against it? And if so, how is their success determined?
Yerameyahu
There are basic thresholds (including 'gunshot' and 'silenced gunshot', for all the sense that makes) given on the table called, IIRC, 'Perception Thresholds' in the core book. Perception tests must beat these thresholds, rolling a dice pool modified by factors such as the Suppressor's -4.
Explosive Donut!
Alright, thanks. smile.gif
Yerameyahu
In the case of 'active' stealth (use of the Infiltration skill), it is more like an opposed roll.
Karoline
QUOTE (Yerameyahu @ Dec 10 2010, 12:23 AM) *
In the case of 'active' stealth (use of the Infiltration skill), it is more like an opposed roll.

biggrin.gif More like an opposed roll because it is an opposed roll?
Yerameyahu
How much more like can something be? nyahnyah.gif
Mercer
I used to have that argument all the time with a friend of mine about getting "more lost".
mmmkay
So normal gunfire is threshold 1, but silenced gunfire is threshold 2. So is the -4 modifier included in the upgrade of threshold from gunfire to silenced gunfire?

My guesses:

A) Silenced gunfire doesn't refer to using an external silencer (as opposed to internal, which affords a -6 modifier), but maybe it refers to muffling the gunshot with a pillow or something.

B) The threshold upgrade refers to a -4 threshold, based on the buying hits ratio. We observe that subtracting 4 is not the same as increasing threshold by 1 even if you buy hits, but I think this is considered for large enough dice pools where it doesn't matter.

What do you think?
Karoline