Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Increasing magic?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
stu_pie
Hi

Im pretty new to Shadowrun, but after a few runs with a pre-made runner I decided to branch out and made an adept (who specs in unarmed combat n kickass-ary) want as many adept powers as possable so gave him 6magic, only problem is now to increase his adept power is going to cost alot of karma (initiation then raising the stat). Is there a way of getting more adept powers without blowing 10 runs worth of karma? (our GM is tight with Karma)
Doc Byte
There's an optional rule that allows to trade a metamagic power for one power point. But I don't know in which Street Magic print run you can find it.
Makki
the first thing you want to look at is the above mentioned Initiation, where you may choose a powerpoint instead of a metamagic technique. But it's not in the first printing afaik.
you can also discuss with your GM about putting a/more geas(a) on your abilities (SM p.31)
Slide7X
QUOTE (Doc Byte @ Feb 20 2011, 09:04 PM) *
There's an optional rule that allows to trade a metamagic power for one power point. But I don't know in which Street Magic print run you can find it.

It's in the Catalyst printing. The one book with the red cover.
The blue cover is the old FanPro version.

The difference is the Red one includes the errata.

The rule your looking for was first in SR3s Magic in the Shadows.
Then it was written into 4th edition in the errata.

I'd post a link to the errata on the official site, but they changed the official site (OMFG, I know grinbig.gif)
and now I can't find it. wobble.gif

EDIT

D'oh found it http://www.shadowrun4.com/wp-content/uploa...errata_v141.pdf

On the first page.

p. 31 Tweaking the Rules
Add the following Tweak:
“Adep. Initiation. Group. may consider allowing adepts to gain
1 Power Point instead of a Metamagic at Initiation.”
Muspellsheimr
QUOTE (Street Magic Errata)
p. 31 Tweaking the Rules
Add the following Tweak: