Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Prime Runners
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Troyminator
I have been reading some of the game supplements and I like the "JackPoint posts" from the various people. I get curious about the people from the JackPoint forums.

Let's have some imaginative fun. What do you think some of the stats/skills for these people would be? I don't really imagine that there is a ultimate right or wrong answer for this.

I would start, but I am new to the system and don't feel too comfortable. Anyone game?
Fortinbras
I'm not a big fan of assigning stats to NPCs who serve as plot points and narrative devices. If you don't want me to kill Thor, God of Thunder, don't give me his stats. Moreover, if you give a definitive number of dice FastJack rolls, then there will invariably be some number cruncher who can make a starting character with more. Now FastJack's role of "Best Hacker on the Planet" is irrelevant and, from a storytelling standpoint, it's hand to view him in the same vein again, knowing your po-dunk 400BP guy rolls more dice than the "Best Hacker."

It's the same reason I wouldn't offer any of the JackPointers as antagonists, either. To have characters fighting nigh god like bastions of Sixth World is a no win scenario. If they lose, you've set up your runners to fail. If they win, then the world of Shadowrun breaks a little. Just ask most folks how they feel about Harlequin.

I'm sure a skilled GM and/or writer could come up with a cool scenario in which JackPointer stats would be necessary, but in my experience players will only complain about either the difficulty or ease of these characters they have known for years.
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
QUOTE (Fortinbras @ Mar 17 2011, 10:08 AM) *