Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Minigun attack penalty
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Krrayn
This is my first time playing a street sam, so I'm still trying to pick up the nuances of gun-fu combat. Please bear with me.

Last session we picked up a Vindicator minigun. In the side bar in Arsenal on the next page it says that firing a minigun carried a -14 DP penalty to the attack roll. What? why? does this mean if I get maximum agility enhancement to 9 and maximum Heavy Weapons skill to 6, I can get ONE DIE to roll to attack? if my net DP is 0 or less, I can't even fire the thing?

can anyone give me an example of how I might by RAW overcome some of this crippling? Otherwise this gun is just a fifty pound lump of lead worth some 5,000 nuyen.gif at best.

Again, sorry for my ignorance. I did try a search first but couldn't find any sort of explanation.

Thanks in advance!
Yerameyahu
Recoil. Mount it on a vehicle.
Summerstorm
Hm.. -14?

I thought just double {heavy weapon} of uncompensated recoil. So a raw, unaided shooting is at -28.

But there are so many ways of pushing that down.
Mount it on a vehicle or fit it to the ground = 0 penalty {Or body of Vehicle free}
Or just combine things like Gyroscopic Harness+Super-Strength +Grip+Gasvent+Shock pad or something for like 10 points recoil compensation.

But overall: Yeah. Nobody fires aimed, perfect shots with a damn minigun. And rightly so. Just use it for suppressive fire if you can't handle the awesomeness. And if you can do well enough : Spread the love *g*.
Yerameyahu
Ooh, good point! -28 makes more sense to me. biggrin.gif Good luck with that, smug trollsam. nyahnyah.gif
Bigity
Only Jesse Ventura is awsome enough to fire a minigun standing under his own power.
Loch
Funny you should ask. Heavy Weapons Troll can do this easily. You want:
-Gyro stabilization system
-Gas Vent 3
-Heavy Barrel
-Personalized Grip/Electronic Firing
-Hip Pad