Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wireless bonuses: my $.02
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Finster
I'm just kind of thinking out loud here, guys. But these wireless bonuses for gear REALLY bother me.

On the face, they sound like a good idea, right? Seems reasonable that a piece of equipment could benefit from matrix connectivity. After all, how useful is my iphone without a network connection? Well, it'll still play Angry Birds, but I can't check stocks or weather.

The devil is in the details.

I am a rules lawyer. Always have been. Sometimes, I can tell this annoys GM's, and I try to not let it bog down gaming sessions, but as someone who is a rules lawyer and also GM's on occasion, I don't see any good way to house rule these wireless benefits.

On the one hand, if I (as a GM) were to say, well, let's just leave them out entirely. We just won't mess with them, because some of them are just plain stupid. Well, okay. But then, as a rules lawyer, I have to look at something like "Internal Air Tank" and scratch my head. "Hey, GM, does that mean, since we are ignoring wireless benefits, that I won't be able to tell the exact level in my Internal Air Tank?"

"Well, errrrr..." That seems pretty dumb. I mean, we've had the ability to monitor pressure and capacity for compressed gases for what, maybe a 100 years? 160 years by 2070 standards? Why the flying flip would I have to connect to a bloody cloud service to know the air capacity of a tank of air that is right there inside my chest? spin.gif A lot of them really do make sense, but a lot of them don't. +2 on visual perception tests? WAT