Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rules for strangling a character?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
JongWK
I've been asked to help design a character, whose player wants to use a wire to strangle people. The problem is that I don't remember where rules for that are. Cannon Companion?

Thanks!
FlakJacket
There are rules for holding your breath/oxygen deprivation in the Companion. But I'm not sure that they'd be any use to you. AFAIK, when you use a garotte or strangle someone- if you're doing it right- then it's more a case of constricting the blood vessels in the neck and depriving the brain of nutrients.

If you're using something really thin and strong then you also have the possibility of causing physical damage as it cuts through the neck but I'll ignore that since it causes a mess and then you might as well have used a knife.

You'll probably have to come up with your own rules on it. Unfortunately I have no real knowledge about it so can't really be much help I'm afarid.
Kagetenshi
More oxygen than nutrients, but yeah, it's more blood-related than breathing-related (though that's an added bonus).

~J
FlakJacket
Well I kinda classed oxygen as a nutrient but thanks for making it clear. smile.gif
Arethusa
Assuming that you're referring to a garrote, which is effectively using a wire for strangulation, there are no canon rules. I'd suggest a couple strength tests followed by a body test. Ultimately, keep in mind that while garrotes are effective, if you have full access to your target (say, sneaking up behind a standing guard), an arm over his mouth, a quick twist of his neck, and a deep and long stab to his kidney in the opposite direction will put him down much more quickly with much less noise and much more reliability. Or, you know, so I hear.

Also, keep in mind that even though garrotes ultimately kill by strangulation, they definitely cut quite deeply and broadly across the neck and make a pretty big mess of things.
DeadNeon