Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [SR5] Sustained Spell & Line-Of-Sight
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Adhoc
Hi,

Last time we played I wanted to cast Improved Invisibility on our sniper.

Range on the Improved Invisibility is LOS, so I have to see him, when I cast the spell.

However, he wanted to move away from my LOS - can I sustain the spell when he no longer is in my LOS?

The rules didn't seem to state anything about it.

A.
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
Once you have successfully cast a spell, you can sustain it outside of Line of Sight. LOS requirements are only for Targeting of the spell... smile.gif
Adhoc
QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Jun 28 2015, 06:46 PM) *
Once you have successfully cast a spell, you can sustain it outside of Line of Sight. LOS requirements are only for Targeting of the spell... smile.gif


That is also how we played with it in the former editions.

But I'll have to persuade my GM that it is like this in 5th: do you have a reference to where the rule is?

The only thing I can find is in the core rulebook on p. 283:

"Duration: This describes how long the spellís effect lasts. Instantaneous (I) spells have an effect that happens and then fades, while Sustained (S) spells last as long as you keep them going".

But I guess that would probably would suffice...

A.
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
You only check for targeting requirements during Step 2 of the Spellcasting Process. Sustaining the spell occurs after that step in the process, after the spell has its effect (resolves), and is only required if you want the effect of the spell to continue past its initial resolution. By that point, targeting has already been satisfied.
Sendaz
Sniper + Improved Invis could be a headache for the GM if overused so use cautiously. Because anything you can do so can the GM.

Also remember the sustained spell could be noticeable from the astral and things like wards and other mages can potentially strip away said magicks as well.
Jaid
QUOTE (Adhoc @ Jun 28 2015, 12:52 PM) *
That is also how we played with it in the former editions.

But I'll have to persuade my GM that it is like this in 5th: do you have a reference to where the rule is?

The only thing I can find is in the core rulebook on p. 283:

"Duration: This describes how long the spellís effect lasts. Instantaneous (I) spells have an effect that happens and then fades, while Sustained (S) spells last as long as you keep them going".

But I guess that would probably would suffice...

A.


how else does he imagine invisibility to function? by definition, if invisibility works, you cannot sustain it unless you can sustain it without seeing the target.
Cochise
QUOTE (Jaid)
how else does he imagine invisibility to function? by definition, if invisibility works, you cannot sustain it unless you can sustain it without seeing the target.


You would be correct for previous editions but I do seem to recall that in 5th Ed someone had the bright idea of explicitly stating that no caster would fall for his own illusion and subsequently would be able to see "through" it under all circumstances.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Dumpshock Forums © 2001-2012