Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Question about anthroform drones.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
McGravin
I'm new to the DS forums, but I've been reading up on drone and vehicle design and I've hit upon a snag that I can't work out. Can anyone help me?

So Rigger 2 says that anthroforms "... have not replaced metahuman workers except in high-risk hazard areas, such as nuclear power plants and ultra-heavy industrial work areas." and then goes on to say that they have two mechanical arms equivalent to cyberarms. Mechanical arms have a base strength rating equal to the vehicle's body squared, so on an anthroform (which has a body of 2) the arms have a strength of 4. Both of these numbers seem small for drones designed for "ultra-heavy industrial" work, but we can assume they also have smaller anthroform drones not built to troll scale and used for not quite so heavy work.

Now here's the part that I take issue with: mechanical arms can lift up to (Strength Rating x 50) kg, but the biggest load any walker powerplant (there aren't any anthroform-specific powerplants listed) can handle is 30 kg. That means that the drone can lift 200 kg, but it can't move when holding the load; it can only carry items up to 30 kg. So Rigger 2 is telling me that a drone designed for "ultra-heavy industrial" work can lift ultra-heavy industrial components, but it can't carry them anywhere?

It seems to me that anthroforms must be a special case when looking up walker power plants. Anyone have any insight on this? Any house rules? Even just doubling the base and maximum loads for anthroform powerplants would make it far more believable.
BitBasher
Both of these numbers seem small for drones designed for "ultra-heavy industrial" work,