Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spirit Power + Canon FAQ = WTF?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Fonitrus
When a spirit or critter with Immunity (Normal Weapons) is attacked, do you only compare double its Essence to the base Power of the weapon (regardless of modifiers, as with the Hardened Armor power), or do you also count modifiers to the Power from burst fire, ammo type, extra successes, etc?
Treat the Immunity power as you would the Hardened Armor power--only use the base Power of the weapon, unmodified by burst fire, ammo type, etc.

What i find weird is the mention of "ammo type" in the disregard list of mods.

Now im not an expert on firearms but i would think iregardless of what u put in ur bullets the firing mechanism has no effect whatsoever in the weapons damage capability. Saying ammo types dont matter when shooting at spirits makes me think that if i had no bullets in my weapon just by having the firing pin move air in the barrel (not possible as no blast to recoil back for further successions..so u might only do it once) i can damage a spirit as good as if i had ANY bullet in my weapon.
Now all BASE weapon damages are given as assumed for STANDARD bullets..right?

It seems odd that ammo will not affect the outcome...
I know this isnt the case for vehicles but why is it for hardened armour and spirits power.
I just read this and realized that without ammo types helping out then your average mundane runner would have ZERO chance of defeating spirits with force 4 or above....
In fact ALL smgs cant damage spirits of force 4 spirits. Even LMGs canot dent these things. Whats surprising all pistols are ur average spirit killing tool and also the shotgun (defiance t-250) is the one of few weapons that can kill spirits...

Now what is a runner to do?
Assuming no magical support arround, how can a mundane runner take down Force 5 spirits?
also assume str5-7 maximum attribute on character for purposes of plain melee attacks...