Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Airboarding
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
k1tsune
Okay. I have a player who's played Cyberpunk pretty extensively, and she wants to know if there's a SR equivalent to (or a possibility to implement) Cyberpunk's airboarding... basically skateboarding on boards with hovercraft-ish abilities. I don't have Rigger 3, so... I don't know what can and can't be done. Any ideas?
Ecclesiastes
I once had a character that made a Vectored Thrust drone that was shaped like a surfboard. He'd strap in and ride it through the skies. I'll see if I can dig up the stats for it.
Kagetenshi
You might be able to modify a microskimmer. I'll check in a few minutes.

If she calls herself Anarki, though, I'm going to rail her.

~J
Lilt
I suspect the most accurate thing (I say suspect because I'm not a CP expert) would be to make a simple small skimmer drone. All of the power plants can carry enough weight for a person (100KGs by shadowrun rules) and stay under their maximum load rating.

They're technically hovercraft so would us ethe hovercraft skill to pilot, but due to the unconventional piloting system (the top-heavy nature of a person riding on them) you may want to impose penalties, make a different skill to ride such-as the 'hoverboard' skill, or simply use the all-mighty athletics skill.
BitBasher
Really, outside of cyberpunk a hoverboard is basically impossible to ride. It's essentially frictionless, it's impossible to turn because there's nothing to effect external force on it in that matter. It totally lacke sthe centripedal force necessary to turn.
Kanada Ten
The best method would be to use a dumb Ally Spirit with Three Dimentional Movement trapped in a board shape or wood homoculous (sp?). It would have been taught to respond to the rider in a manner similar to skateboarding. The other way with magic would be to use a specilized Levitaiton spell designed to accomidate such rider reactions quicikened or anchored to board.