Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ultrasound ranges and effects
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
stone-rhino
Do ultrasound sights have a range limit, or an "effective" range limit? I'd think there would at least be some TN penalties beyond a certain distance from a target, due to lag since the signals only go at the speed of sound. Since ultrasound requires goggles like smartlinks, does that mean it would be incompatible with magnification scopes? I know that it reduces the TN modifiers for ruthenium by half(M&M114), but how would it stack up against invis and imp invis?.
SaddMann
I'm not an expert, but my read is that the practical range is equal to sight, or at least equal to the range of whatever firearm you might use.

As for the smartlink, you can always use on or the other. If your goggles had Ultrasound and SL, then no problem to combine them, or if you have an internal SL with Cybereyes again, no problem. The Game Balance is that you cant use magnification and SL together.

Now the last one, And Here I am without books again, but....The Ultra sound basically paints over everything that bounces sound. So invisibility is negated by it. There might be a slight TN mod because of the incongruos picture between the painted picture and the empty space. But on the other hand, a silence spell is the antithesis of ultrasound. The way I handle it is all sound is magically deadened so anything in or on the other side of the spell is invisible to Ultrasound. (Beyond it because the sound needs to go through or bounce back through it, so are killed)

There may be more canon answers, but that is how I handle it.

stone-rhino
The Game Balance is that you cant use magnification and SL together.

Yeah, but would ultrasound on its own be useable with magnification?