Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: rigging from the matrix, can it be done?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Oro
my groups last game was star wars in which i covered all the techi bases. I'm new to SR so i dont know the ins and outs of the rules very well/at all. i was trying to create a character that could double as a rigger and decker. if you pawn the B/R skills off on some level 2 contacts it frees up more than enough skill points to cover the minimums of both archetypes. limiting yourself to two vehicles (rotor and car) and understanding that you will never leave your safe house frees up even more skill points. things were going great!

...but then,

you cant deck and rig at the same time and it would take a long time to switch from one to the other. oh horror, my first SR character in 4 years is broken before hes made!

im not asking for total control of both simultaneously but a smoother transition must be possible.

so...can you create a program that will allow your RC deck to "follow" you through the matrix, essentially making your drones matrix controlled and set up a big nasty fire-wall around them so that you could effectively deck and rig at the same time?

im not even sure if this is the correct folder to be posting this.

"if you wana be stupid, you gotta be tough"
FrostyNSO
Have you thought about hooking up two datajacks? One to the Cyberdeck, the other to the remote control deck. Then you could in theory, switch over, from one to the other.
Oro
i havent really thought of any of it, to be honest i havent even looked at the SR book for 4 years, just sifted through it yesterday, trying to come up with a character for a game starting soon here in bremerton WA
Oro
just looked at it and it does seem to be the easiest solution.