Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hacker Party Tricks
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Makar
I'm new to SR4 and only played SR3 for a couple months prior, so I'm pretty green. In our group I volunteered to play the hacker, since the veterans regarded it with a bit of disdain.

I was hoping that this board could help me brew up some hacking tricks that could be used in combat when the shells start flying. The book was pretty slim on examples of combat hacking, so what are some ideas?

I thought that getting into someone's smartlink to force their gun to drop its clip might be a nice trick, but I wasn't sure how to go about it.

Would I need to...

1) make a Scan check to locate their PAN
2) use Stealth to hide my access from their firewall
3) use Exploit to gain access
4) subscribe to the smartlink's node
4) use Command to tell the smartlink to drop the clip

Is this right? Any other suggestions of ways to affect combat with hacking?
Drace
Thats how I run it, but to do it in AR, would take too long, so you would have to go VR, which would leave you vulnerable.

Another trick is to hack the security cameras, to give the rest of the team a AR overlay of the enemy.

Or just stay far away in the getaway vehicle or a safe area, and do the hacking from there.
Liper
And this is why no self-respecting shadowrunner will have a anything in his body connected to his commlink.
godboyimmaculate
Without the commlink's protection, wouldn't it be even easier to hack a plain jane smartlink? (Device Rating would most likely be lower than a commlink's firewall)
Valentinew