Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Why shouldn't I buy SR4?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Bull
QUOTE (Critias)
The reason I can't help but pepper my speech with insults is that I've been saying the same thing(s) around here for probably 6 months. If Blakkie can use that as an excuse to be "an asshole" smilingly, I'll use it as an excuse to flavor my comments with a bit of condescension.

Blakkie can't use it as an excuse. He';s been warned a couple times, as have others (And now so are you.)

This is the last warning for everyone that's been having fun playing "Insult My Fellow Dumpshockers". Next step is a time out.

Bull
mmu1
QUOTE (Feshy)
SR4 should be right up your alley if you're looking for a more basic, no thinky-thinky, sort of game. Have fun with it.

Now see, this is the kind of comment that is just annoying. It implies that the person who likes to be bludgeoned with math is somehow a superior gamer to those who prefer to spend their time with plot development. Seriously, if I wanted to listen to masochists with superiority complexes, I'd go find myself a goth club. At least there I'd be able to watch women in leather and fishnets.

Plotting out massive graphs of target number parameters to look for flaws in the system to exploit is a great metagame and all; but it doesn't mean you're *smarter* for *wanting* to do that. It means you enjoy the metagame more than the game. I can understand that; I've been there. But really, that doesn't attract new players, and it doesn't lend itself well to the game experience itself.

Besides, SR4 leaves plenty of room for it... just go min/max nuts at chargen. Plenty of anomalies there to exploit if that's your shtick.

Wow, that is annoying - implying that someone who knows how to play the game better is a better gamer. Imagine that. biggrin.gif