nezumi
Nov 7 2003, 02:57 AM
In regards to stats, I don't see them as being more crippled. They lost a high priority slot, but they didn't have to split attributes. Yes, they were weaker than the critter counterparts, but that's why I'd be fine letting a PC play one! Considering the rules in the 3rd edition for regeneration (heal all damage in human form while wearing armor each turn), if I let PCs play shapeshifters I might as well let them play dragons! (Not great dragons, just measly little ones that I can pick on). The only thing I'd really want to change about the 2nd edition version is let them do physical damage with their natural weapons. Otherwise they're great; they're cool, they're realistic and they're balanced.
Syndyne
Nov 7 2003, 03:10 AM
Zazen:
QUOTE |
I'm unable to find where it says that shapeshifters are not subject to standard rules for death. I did find this, however: |
SR Companion Page 36 Regeneration Section Para 3, "Whenever a shapeshifter takes
Deadly physical damage in one shot, or its cumulative damage reaches
Deadly on the condition monitor, roll 1D6. On a result of 1, the shapeshifter does not regenerate, and may die if they do not receive medical care
per standard rules."
I don't see an exception here for going over the overflow limit. To me, this specifically states that they don't follow the normal rules for death until they have failed their roll. If you get something else out of the same statement, then I don't think we can accomplish much by continuing to debate it.
Kagetenshi:
QUOTE |
With regards to shapeshifters (which I presume you were speaking about), you're entirely accurate. For the rest of the world, though, it doesn't matter whether a shot splatters all of you or just your brain, you're just as dead. |
My statement should definitely be construed as restricted to the effect of the damage on a regenerating creature. Otherwise, dead is dead.
Zazen
Nov 7 2003, 06:07 AM
QUOTE (Syndyne) |
I don't see an exception here for going over the overflow limit. |
Me either. I see nothing that exempts them from it.

Yes, they may die if they roll a 1, but I don't see anything that says that they may not die if they roll 2-6. In fact, the earlier flavor text seems to support the notion that they are still susceptible to massive amounts of damage despite their regenerative powers.
Mercer
Nov 7 2003, 04:07 PM
Well, if memory serves, when the regenner rolls his d6 and doesn't fail, the damage disappears (I think that was the 2nd ed wording). So, the creature couldn't even get any overdamage at all without first failing the d6 roll.
Zazen
Nov 7 2003, 04:19 PM
edit- nevermind, I posted something that wasn't sound.
Rock-Steady
Nov 7 2003, 05:27 PM
QUOTE (Mercer) |
Well, if memory serves, when the regenner rolls his d6 and doesn't fail, the damage disappears (I think that was the 2nd ed wording). So, the creature couldn't even get any overdamage at all without first failing the d6 roll. |
In 3rd Edition the damage vanishes the next round after the creature got it.
So if you have some actions after the creature you can kill it with overdamage.
Syndyne
Nov 8 2003, 01:06 AM
Zazen:
QUOTE |
Yes, they may die if they roll a 1, but I don't see anything that says that they may not die if they roll 2-6. |
It says, in the same paragraph, "For any other result, the character suffers the standard combat penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted, but the damage vanishes at the beginning of the next Combat Turn."
Zazen:
QUOTE |
In fact, the earlier flavor text seems to support the notion that they are still susceptible to massive amounts of damage despite their regenerative powers. |
Yes, but the book specifically deals with that and the shapeshifter has a higher chance of dying in that case, dying on a 1 or 2.
Rock-Steady:
QUOTE |
So if you have some actions after the creature you can kill it with overdamage. |
Quite a few of us have argued that simple overdamage doesn't kill a shapeshifter.
Rock-Steady
Nov 8 2003, 11:42 AM
QUOTE (Syndyne) |
Quite a few of us have argued that simple overdamage doesn't kill a shapeshifter. |
Nothing wrong with that.
But i dont agree.
TinkerGnome
Nov 8 2003, 04:27 PM
There are holes in the regeneration rules you could drive a citymaster through. For instance, it doesn't actually say that stun damage heals quickly, overdamage doesn't kill the shifter, or that any non-deadly injury heals. The rules as written only appear to kick in when the shifter takes a deadly wound... which is odd.
Zazen
Nov 8 2003, 08:20 PM
QUOTE (Syndyne) |
Zazen:
QUOTE | Yes, they may die if they roll a 1, but I don't see anything that says that they may not die if they roll 2-6. |
It says, in the same paragraph, "For any other result, the character suffers the standard combat penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted, but the damage vanishes at the beginning of the next Combat Turn."
|
You've slightly misquoted the text. It says "For any other result the character suffers the standard damage(not combat) penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted..."
Note that a standard penalty associated with taking your body rating in overdamage is death.
BitBasher
Nov 8 2003, 08:58 PM
QUOTE |
Note that a standard penalty associated with taking your body rating in overdamage is death. |
Correct, which unless the magic number was rolled, all that damage vanishes at the beginning of the next turn.
TinkerGnome
Nov 8 2003, 09:06 PM
QUOTE (BitBasher) |
Correct, which unless the magic number was rolled, all that damage vanishes at the beginning of the next turn. |
Yes, but he's arguing that the death effect is one which cannot be reversed.
He may well be right, too.
Rock-Steady
Nov 8 2003, 09:42 PM
QUOTE (BitBasher @ Nov 8 2003, 08:58 PM) |
Correct, which unless the magic number was rolled, all that damage vanishes at the beginning of the next turn. |
Thats the point.
In the next round. The critter still has the damage if it gets more damage, so it must be dead if the damage exceeds its body rating.
If the round ends before the critter can receive more damage its lucky. *g*
Btw
The german critter states that they dont regenerate stun damage.
I like two different rules....
[edit]
Spelling
Syndyne
Nov 9 2003, 12:37 AM
Zazen:
QUOTE |
You've slightly misquoted the text. It says "For any other result the character suffers the standard damage(not combat) penalties for the Combat Turn in which the damage was inflicted..." |
I'm sorry, missed that one. . .
Zazen:
QUOTE |
Note that a standard penalty associated with taking your body rating in overdamage is death. |
Yes, I don't think that anyone ever argued that if you FAIL the roll and have more than your body in overdamage you will not die, simply that if you MAKE the roll you don't die. . .
I don't really think there is any real point in continuing to argue this issue, no one is going to change their mind without an official ruling.
spotlite
Nov 9 2003, 12:47 AM
QUOTE (Rock-Steady) |
The german critter states that they dont regenerate stun damage. |
Any chance you could print up the full text, preferably translated in English?
ta.
BitBasher
Nov 9 2003, 12:47 AM
Most people don't change their minds WITH an official ruling =)
Zazen
Nov 9 2003, 01:46 AM
QUOTE (Syndyne) |
Yes, I don't think that anyone ever argued that if you FAIL the roll and have more than your body in overdamage you will not die, simply that if you MAKE the roll you don't die. . . |
Please reread my post, and the book quote in particular. It's talking about what happens when you make the roll.
Zazen
Nov 9 2003, 01:54 AM
QUOTE (BitBasher) |
Most people don't change their minds WITH an official ruling =) |
And what, praytell, is an "official ruling"?
Syndyne
Nov 9 2003, 03:03 AM
QUOTE (Zazen) |
QUOTE (Syndyne @ Nov 8 2003, 07:37 PM) | Yes, I don't think that anyone ever argued that if you FAIL the roll and have more than your body in overdamage you will not die, simply that if you MAKE the roll you don't die. . . |
Please reread my post, and the book quote in particular. It's talking about what happens when you make the roll. |
And it says that those standard penalties disappear. . .
Kagetenshi
Nov 9 2003, 03:17 AM
QUOTE (TinkerGnome) |
He may well be right, too. |
No, he mayn't be. Nowhere in the rules does it say that death cannot be regenerated from, merely that a failed regeneration roll can result in death.
~J
TinkerGnome
Nov 9 2003, 04:57 AM
QUOTE (Kagetenshi @ Nov 8 2003, 11:17 PM) |
QUOTE (TinkerGnome @ Nov 8 2003, 05:06 PM) | He may well be right, too. |
No, he mayn't be. Nowhere in the rules does it say that death cannot be regenerated from, merely that a failed regeneration roll can result in death.
|
There is a vast difference between "may be right" and "is right". Death in Shadowrun is a very final thing and magic can't generally get you back from it. Do you allow someone at body + 1 overflow to come back with anything other than regeneration? What if someone hits them with a heal or stabilize spell before the end of the pass?
If you don't allow that, it follows that regeneration shouldn't, either. After all, another kind of magic is healing the damage before the turn is over, and the PC is only suffering the effects of those wounds for the duration of the turn... Is death an effect that magic can reverse?
[edit] Heh, turns out this was my "running target" post. Not that it matters, or anything. [/edit]
Kagetenshi
Nov 9 2003, 05:44 AM
No, but the suggestion that death from overdamage occurs was based on the fact that elsewhere in the rules it says that people die when they pass overdamage and it wasn't specifically contradicted in the Regen rules. In Regen, death isn't specifically stated as a cause of nonregeneration except in the case of a failed roll, so saying regen applies to death is equally valid, and I don't believe you can accept one but not the other and still claim to be "interpreting canon" rather than houseruling.
~J
Postscript: I got my "Running Target" post tonight too. Woo! 1,000 posts in under a year!
BitBasher
Nov 9 2003, 09:28 AM
Also magic healing is not regeneration, and neither are they comparable, or interchangable. One's rules are not the other's. For the point of this conbersation I feel it is like compariing apples and hookers. Very different things
Rock-Steady
Nov 9 2003, 11:22 AM
QUOTE (spotlite @ Nov 9 2003, 12:47 AM) |
QUOTE (Rock-Steady @ Nov 8 2003, 09:42 PM) | The german critter states that they dont regenerate stun damage. |
Any chance you could print up the full text, preferably translated in English?
ta.
|
Sorry dont own the german one personally.
[Update]
Ok my friend and me got it wrong. He though that we talked about the compendium (which states that PC shapeshifters can only regenerate physical damage).
The german critter says damage (regardless if stun or physical) too.
TinkerGnome
Nov 9 2003, 02:37 PM
QUOTE (BitBasher) |
Also magic healing is not regeneration, and neither are they comparable, or interchangable. One's rules are not the other's. For the point of this conbersation I feel it is like compariing apples and hookers. Very different things |
It doesn't matter what the respective rules for the two types of healing are. What's important is the question:
"Once death has been suffered as a wound effect, can it be reversed if the damage is removed?"
The shapeshifter entry specificly says that the creatures suffers wound penalties until the end of the turn. Death certainly qualifies as a "wound penalty". Following this train of thought, if a shapeshifter suffers the death penalty, can they come back? The rules do not specificly address this (hell, the word "overflow" doesn't even exist in the regeneration section of shapeshifter entry).
BitBasher
Nov 9 2003, 04:54 PM
QUOTE |
"Once death has been suffered as a wound effect, can it be reversed if the damage is removed?" |
And the opposing viewpoint is, it specifically states that death is not suffered if that roll is not failed. Nothing is bringing him back from the dead, because by making that roll he did not die.
I propose that death is not a "would penalty" the wound penalty are the specific penalties at light, moderate, serious, and deadly. Death ends all wound penalties. It says they die only if that roll is not made, otherwise they regenerate.
It doesn't do any good to argue about this. It's not directly addresses and everyone is going to do what they want anyway. It's ambiguous enough depending on what you infer we can all be right or we can all be wrong.
TinkerGnome
Nov 9 2003, 05:38 PM
QUOTE (BitBasher @ Nov 9 2003, 12:54 PM) |
It's ambiguous enough depending on what you infer we can all be right or we can all be wrong. |
True. The thing is, the rules are silent on damage past deadly, and all of it is moot. However, I was initiatlly arguing against someone saying that the "overdamage = death" argument couldn't be true.
It really could go either way. The sticking point is the delay between the regenerate roll and the time when it actually heals the damage. The way I would fix it in my game (provided I ever had a shape shifter player or NPC where it was important):
When damage reaches or exceeds deadly, the d6 roll is made. If it succeeds, all damage is immediately healed, though wound penalties apply till the start of the next combat round. If the damage was sufficient to reach body + 1 overflow, the damage counts as massive trauma and the regenerate roll fails on 1 & 2, regulardless of the specific nature of the damage. In all other respects, the power works as written.
Kagetenshi
Nov 9 2003, 05:53 PM
So the trick is to shoot a shifter first with a shotgun, then a heavy pistol, and finally follow it up with a PAC for a total of 19 boxes?
~J
Zazen
Nov 10 2003, 05:12 AM
QUOTE (BitBasher) |
QUOTE | "Once death has been suffered as a wound effect, can it be reversed if the damage is removed?" |
And the opposing viewpoint is, it specifically states that death is not suffered if that roll is not failed. |
It doesn't actually say that anywhere, though.
QUOTE |
It says they die only if that roll is not made, otherwise they regenerate. |
Nor does it say that. It says they may die if the roll is not made, this is not the same as saying that they may only die if the roll is not made.
I see two arguments so far: that death can be reversed via regeneration, and that the "damage penalties" mentioned in the text refer only to target number and initiative penalties, not to other peripheral effects such as death.
If you say that death may be reversed by regeneration, then why must shapeshifters ever die? After a failed roll a comrade can hit their corpse with another hunk of deadly damage and they've got another chance to wake up. They make the test every time they take deadly damage in one shot and dying doesn't affect their ability to regenerate, so shifters should be easily revivable any time after death.
If you say that the "damage penalty" only applies to TN and initiative penalties, then I ask: do you allow a shifter who makes his roll to use the Quick Strike adept power for the rest of the turn? They've taken assloads of damage (which remains until the turn is over), but they are, under this notion, immune to any effects of their damage other than target number and initiative penalties. They should be able to use Quick Strike despite their massive gushing wounds.
Corywn
Nov 10 2003, 06:06 AM
QUOTE (Zazen) |
I see two arguments so far: that death can be reversed via regeneration, and that the "damage penalties" mentioned in the text refer only to target number and initiative penalties, not to other peripheral effects such as death. |
Actually, I see two different arguements:
1) The book does say something;
2) The book doesn't say something.
The problem is the rules are fragged up, and people are making guesses that are completely off the wall in a feeble attempt to support their claims.
This'll piss several people off I'm sure, but here's an example.
I'm not gay. Has anyone else said they're not gay on DSF, (and if you have, hey, you're exempt!) That means everyone else on DSF must be gay right? I mean, they didn't say they weren't gay, right?! (This is an extreme example, and is just that, an example to prove my point. DON'T READ TOO FAR BETWEEN THE LINES!)
On the other side of the coin, what the book does say is indeed incomplete; it doesn't give enough information to account for the majority of the situations Shifters will find themselves in with their Regeneration power.
Right now I'm having to say that there are too many holes in the rules to run a Shapeshifter character without several houserules. Of course, if someone as a GM isn't willing to houserul Shifters as they see fit, they shouldn't let them run.
I think that's all it comes down to.
nezumi
Nov 10 2003, 01:51 PM
Corwyn called me gay!!
Okay, I just had to say that. But yes, good post, right on.
Kagetenshi
Nov 10 2003, 02:52 PM
Mein Gott, I'm surrounded by purple cows!
~J, not a purple cow
CoalHeart
Nov 10 2003, 03:26 PM
You know this regeneration talk makes me worry about Sadists getting hold of beings that can regenerate. I mean you could go hogwild forever and never worry about lasting damage. Sounds like my dream come true Mwhahahaha
nezumi
Nov 10 2003, 03:36 PM
'my'?
I'd like to point out that an awful lot of regenerating creatures tend to be predators, and predators tend to fall into the sadist categories themselves... Plus they have super human power and have no qualms about eating people. They also seem to have an uncanny ability to escape confinement. Sounds like some of them would love for you to jaunt on over and hit them (I can just imagine the look on a were tiger's face as you smack it across the muzzle once or twice.)
CoalHeart
Nov 10 2003, 05:55 PM
er did I say 'my'? no no I ment um... crap... my secret's out. Prepare to die!
I ment my character, he's got a bit of a thing for torture. He's a freak.
but anyways there are ways to restrain regenerating creatures even ones with superhuman powers. Can anyone say bone staples and warded coffins? Shock manacles and BTL feeds directly to the brain and some mage masks.
a bone staple is just a giant U that is stuck through the flesh on either side of the bone and then into a board or whatever you tie them to. Flesh heals over the wounds, thier bones are held in place. Sure they might be able to break thier arm or break it off to get out. but if you have enough staples they won't have the mobility to do so.
Well thats enough of me giving out my trade secrets!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.