Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Satanic Tradition
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Neondante
I am fairly new at GMing shadowrun, and am running a game for some people who are entirely new to the game. I was asking one of the players, who is playing an uncouth, antisocial stealth expert who hates things that he doesn't understand, like metas and the awakened... which makes for an interesting character, as the himself is a magician. When I asked him what magical tradition he followed, he said that he basically worshipped himself, which made me think of Satanism. (Which is different from devil worship, for those who don't know what I'm talking about.) So that made me start to think about the rules for it, and I'm having trouble deciding. First, which of the spirits would they be able to summon. I'm thinking fire, as flame imagery is of course, very often associated with satanism. Beasts also, as kindness to animals is an important part of satanism, and the goat is one of their main symbols. I'm not sure which would be excluded... perhaps water, as the more or less opposite of fire, or man, because Satanists have little respect for people on the whole. (Baaaaaah...) Opinions?

As for drain resistance, I'm leaning towards intuition, as they seem to have a "do what works for you" mentality for magic.

Here's a glimpse of Satanism: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LaVeyan_Satanism

Anyone have experience with running this tradition, or who are members of this tradition irl? (The player had never heard of it, which I'm sure is the only reason he wasn't one... he has identified himself as one since.) Or anyone just want to throw in your 2 nuyen.gif ?
Particle_Beam
The Shadowrun 4 supplemental book "Street Magic" does have that emo-satanism-stuff as tradition in it, or some kind of Black Magic-stuff, something similar anyway. I recommend getting that book, it's worth it.
Neondante