My point is thus... which you studiously ignore.
I agree, the rules say a spirit CAN. However, they do NOT say a spirit always will. You're arbitrarily creating that condition. Depending on tradition... spirits may very well be willing servants who gain something out of the deal (look at things like christian theurgy or otherwise. You're using the sledgehammer for something which should be used AFTER a player has been abusing spirits.
Just because the rules say you can shoot the cop in the street doesn't mean there aren't consequences for it. The same goes for PC's summoning spirits... if they're abusing it then the consequences should be brought to bear.
Spirits under force 4 are rediculously weak and not all that usefull, even in a low power street game. The ONLY thing you've done is fixed it so the ONLY type of mage which is usefull is one who's twinked out his drain pool. (to resist his spell drain, since he won't be using spirit services... and so he can manage to soak summoning drain when he needs an actually useful spirit).
I agree, the rules say a spirit CAN. However, they do NOT say a spirit always will. You're arbitrarily creating that condition. Depending on tradition... spirits may very well be willing servants who gain something out of the deal (look at things like christian theurgy or otherwise. You're using the sledgehammer for something which should be used AFTER a player has been abusing spirits.
Just because the rules say you can shoot the cop in the street doesn't mean there aren't consequences for it. The same goes for PC's summoning spirits... if they're abusing it then the consequences should be brought to bear.
Spirits under force 4 are rediculously weak and not all that usefull, even in a low power street game. The ONLY thing you've done is fixed it so the ONLY type of mage which is usefull is one who's twinked out his drain pool. (to resist his spell drain, since he won't be using spirit services... and so he can manage to soak summoning drain when he needs an actually useful spirit).
Which is why Spirits under Force 4 do not spend Edge to resist Summoning in our games... And it is not arbitrary... Spirits spend Edge when they Spend Edge... nothing arbitrary at all when it is expressly allowed, and is stated before any games begin... And there is never enough Drain Dice Pools... You will eventually take drain... Our mage has 16 DP for Drain, and yet, when he was smacked with 20 Drain form a Spirit, he did not soak it all... the odds will eventually catch up to you... And Characters can indeed bypass the Edge Resistance if they work at placating the spirits... I mentioned that before... It takes roleplaying to do that though... Just because you think that your tradition uses spirits as slaves does not mean that the Spirits think that it is okay... which is probably where you and I differ in our opinions.
As for your analogy of the cop in the street... Yes, there will be consequences, some you can anticipate and some that you probably cannot. By the same token, Summoning Spirits of Force 4+ has known consequences... no difference there... There are worse consequences than having a spirit spend Edge to resist Summoning.
I understand you don't agree with me, but what I do is not Wrong... it is just not what you do... we can both be right about this.
@Tagz... Interesting SOlution... sounds very workable indeed...
Keep the Faith