Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ghouls noming my PCs!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
FrighNaar
Hi everyone

My players surprised me with a plan to infiltrate a facility that I haven't thought of and now I need a little help.
I'm quite new to game-mastering and to SR4, so I hope my questions don't sound too stupid.
So situation is this: The team wants to bypass some security by going through the sewers. They know the area is heavily infested with feral ghouls (I established that because I thought they would then look for a safer rout to the target). So they are armed to the teeth and ready to rock.
My problem now is: From what I understand fluff wise ghouls are highly infectious. I want to give them a challenging fight. But I don't want to run the session after that with 4 ghoul characters. I could go the Resident Evil way and say 'You don't get infected even if you get bitten a bazillion times since you are the main characters' but that would be a bit cheap. Then again I don't want it like 'The ghoul sneezed in your direction, please make a new character for the next session'.
So how could I handle this and get the characters through this without making it look cheap?

If anyone had some advice, I'd be very thankfull

p.s.: we only have the SR4 Core Book, Streetmagic, Augmentation, Arsenal and Unwired. So if there are any rules in other books how to handle this, we don't have them at hand
BishopMcQ
The balanced technique that I've found is for the Infection to happen when the ghouls do physical damage with a melee attack, or if the PC glitches a damage soak test with the Ghoul in melee range.

Beyond that, if you want to reduce the infection rate--have the character make the resistance test:
3 Hits, they are fine;
2 Hits, they get a little sick but shake it off;
1 Hit, there is a lasting effect--light-sensitivity, carrier, etc.;
0 Hits, they are infected.
(This is similar to how the infection process worked in SR3)