Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How much damage can a astral intruder really do?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Mardegun
OK, I admit right here and now, that I am just learning the finer details of the magic rules. With that said, how effective can a astral intruder be? Here is a summary if what I know

Good:
1) Astral intruders can pass though any mundane structure. So they can explore the layout of a building
2) They can get the general emotion imprint of areas
3) Summon spirits, which could cause some serious damage in many different ways.
4) Astral intruders can materialize and commutate with people. So espionage could be a problem.
5) Most places have little to no astral security.

Bad:
1) You can't read or interact with anything. So you can't read papers or otherwise actually gain real information. For example if you want info that is store on a computer, you can't get a it. Unless a heart spirit can get the info, but that isn't that reliable and if you are hermetic then what?
2) Really how useful are emotion imprints? Aren't most emotion imprints rather useless, unless something special happens AND the astral reader gets enough ascending successes.
3) Astral barriers are major pains in the ass. Masking is a best solution, but not fool proof.
4) You are easily spotted by astral patrols and dual beings. In most cases the magic security is combine with mundane security, which will sound the alarms.
5) You will die if you can't get to your body in time. What if astral barriers are activated trapping you in astral space?
6) Your meat body is a sitting target.
7) It is very hard if not impossible, to know the astral security before infiltrating.
cool.gif Chances are you have no backup what-so-ever.
9) Spirits can be difficult to deal with. Banishing them will warn their masters
10) There are a number of magic security measures that can be difficult to deal with, magical vines and bacteria just two types of security.