Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Behind the Crown [OoC]
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Welcome to the Shadows
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22
pbangarth
I might have asked this already. Am I right in assuming the spell items (and the spells on them) do not travel with Blue into the astral plane?
Koekepan
QUOTE (pbangarth @ Jan 26 2021, 03:58 AM) *
I might have asked this already. Am I right in assuming the spell items (and the spells on them) do not travel with Blue into the astral plane?


They are effectively dual natured. The spell on them is visible to astral viewers, but the physical medium on which they are placed does not dematerialise if the bearer decides to project.

In other words, you can't prepare a bunch of spells and then carry them in an astral bandolier while you go to perpetrate mayhem.
pbangarth
Seeing as you used the word 'swarm', I tried to figure out where I had read optional rules about targeting a swarm of things, like insects, rats, etc. Damned if I can find it.
pbangarth
I just noticed an error I made in creating Blue. He has a sustaining focus holding Increase Attribute (WIL), but I made that spell exclusive. Page 191 says one can't cast an Exclusive spell into a focus. So I need to find 2 points to make the spell not exclusive.

The easiest way to fix this is to drop the 2 point F2 Physical Barrier spell. He hasn't cast that yet in the game. A security magician would have it, but we could assume he used a script for it at work.

I can do that adjustment if you like. I will miss the spell, but Blue can always learn it later.
Koekepan
QUOTE (pbangarth @ Jan 29 2021, 06:12 AM) *
I just noticed an error I made in creating Blue. He has a sustaining focus holding Increase Attribute (WIL), but I made that spell exclusive. Page 191 says one can't cast an Exclusive spell into a focus. So I need to find 2 points to make the spell not exclusive.

The easiest way to fix this is to drop the 2 point F2 Physical Barrier spell. He hasn't cast that yet in the game. A security magician would have it, but we could assume he used a script for it at work.

I can do that adjustment if you like. I will miss the spell, but Blue can always learn it later.



Yes, that makes sense to me. I'll go with that.
pbangarth
Thanks.

Does the Assessing roll embedded in the spoiler apply?
Koekepan
'fraid not. The action has to be slot-and-run unless he wants to duke it out with tiny mushrooms and things. Reroll on that basis.
pbangarth
OK. I'm not sure what the dice roll modification is. Can you help me out?
Koekepan
No time for using aura reading to assist, and target number 5 instead of 4 for challenging conditions. However, if you get at least one success, you should know enough to tell whether or not she's fully mundane - without much in the way of other details.

pbangarth
Thanks.
pbangarth
Hmmm. Influence them?

The Influence spell-on-a-stick can't come with him into astral space.

He could try Leadership (1), but 1 die? Things are not looking good in this encounter for that kind of attempt.

Negotiation (2)? Things are not looking good in this encounter for that kind of attempt.

I believe he can't default to Attribute if he has the Skill. Even so, 4 dice with a +4 target number? Things are not looking good in this encounter for that kind of attempt.

If he could Mindlink with the little fairy, maybe she could read his intentions, but that spell requires a willing partner. Things are not looking good in this encounter for that kind of attempt.

Try to read her a second time, at +2 to the target number, with the reduced number of dice from the distraction? Things are not looking good in this encounter for that kind of attempt.

Hmmm. So, what if he were to go to the source of the issue? The gist of it. The main goal. What if he were to give up trying to read her surreptitiously, and try to talk to the child in a magical-mystical kind of way? Scare the shit out of her and her mother, or maybe get her to call off the sparklies, and thereby give him an answer.

What could possibly go wrong?
Bastard
Thanks for letting me join!

I will have to make a new character, as I don't have any SR5 with me. I just moved across the country for a new job, and still getting settled in. My wife and kid are coming this week before going back to close up shop on the old house. So I should have something done by Sunday the 21st. I am going to check my characters I have posted already in Cast of Shadows. I think only my last one is 5th edition. Will a bounty hunter who doesn't kill but arrests work for this group? I also have an ex-Johnson, but not sure if he is 3 or 5.
pbangarth
This game is SR3.

Any skill set other than that of Owl shaman would be appreciated by Blue.

P.S. Now, Mars Alpha I do remember.
Koekepan
The recruitment thread is http://forums.dumpshock.com/index.php?showtopic=42238 (just to help keep things organised).

Bastard
Sweet. I have SR3 all on my computer. I will figure something out.
pbangarth
Note to self: Next PC, build them with a law degree. Contract law.
Koekepan
Note to self: next campaign, make sure to involve a big dose of behavioural economics.
pbangarth
QUOTE (Koekepan @ Feb 9 2021, 02:06 PM) *
Note to self: next campaign, make sure to involve a big dose of behavioural economics.

Hey. Blue is already satisficing.
pbangarth
It's been a long time since I had a PC project astrally without someone or something watching over the body. It scares me how often I have done it with Blue.
pbangarth
Happy Valentine's Day to all. Hope you have celebrations in the offing, or at least someone about whom to fantasize.
pbangarth
I love the curves you are throwing, Koekepan. Thanks for the fun!
Koekepan
You're welcome. If it were simple, would it have been fun?

As the old song goes: "I beg your pardon. I never promised you a rose garden."
Koekepan
Give me a corporate culture check for Blue - roll it with two targets. One target 3, one target 6.
pbangarth
OK! Let's play!

I'm not sure whether you want one roll or two. It sounds like one.

1d6: 6!!!

Hah!

pbangarth
Damn. I don't even have to role play Blue's oversight. I missed that too.
Koekepan
As always, follow the money.
pbangarth
Sorry, I thought it would be a good idea to agree with my wife's thought, "Wouldn't it be good to do some chores around the house this weekend?"

Yeah.
pbangarth
I need to orient myself, to the time of year, as in the date (for time of sunrise/sunset) and the current time, in game. So, how many hours of night at this time of year, and how many hours of night does Blue still have?

Also, I believe Blue received his contract two nights ago. Is that correct?

As an aside, I wonder how many Owl shamans migrate with the changing seasons. Live north of the equator in January, and south of it in July.
Koekepan
The game started on the morning of the 17th of March, 2060.

That night, you were based in Hopalong's safehouse, and while out and about you hooked up the job.

The next day you slept, then the night of the 18th you were buzzing around Betty's place, or walking the mean streets, contemplating a giant snake.

The day of the 19th, you arranged a mostly undesirable (to others) basement apartment under a club, and corresponded with Billy about sundry topics.

It's now the 20th, so just about the equinox.
pbangarth
Thanks! I figure Blue has a few hours of nighttime left, then.
pbangarth
Wow. That third party 'benefactor' still wants to save Blue's ass. Or, keep it out of Mitsuhama's clutches, anyway.

Wheels within wheels.
Koekepan
QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 1 2021, 06:37 AM) *
Wow. That third party 'benefactor' still wants to save Blue's ass. Or, keep it out of Mitsuhama's clutches, anyway.

Wheels within wheels.


It's more complex than that, but yeah. It's still an unresolved matter.

And you know what? Chuck's probably not on their grab list any more. Getting blown up will do that.
pbangarth
Cindy's off, too. frown.gif

Carlos should still be a target, and I wonder what happened to Hopalong's street cred, dumping a job in the middle and all.

And Betty ran off with half the signup fee! There's a theme starting here. Every woman that has come into Connor's life since he became Blue has died or run off. There's a song in there somewhere. Sung by someone with a name like Hopalong's.
pbangarth
"Owl is ... short ..." ??? smile.gif
pbangarth
I see what you are doing here, Koekepan. Playing with the mind of the little shaman out beyond his depth.
Koekepan
I've also been known to use a laser pointer to toy with kittycats.
Bastard
Do you have a dice roller website you prefer? I cannot remember the one I used to use. It is no longer in my bookmarks. It was something with Castle in it, I think.

Anyways, I used https://dicelog.com/dice and got one success.
[ Spoiler ]
pbangarth
I've been using Orokos.com. Don't know if it matters to Fearless Leader.
Koekepan
QUOTE (Bastard @ Mar 10 2021, 05:58 AM) *
Do you have a dice roller website you prefer? I cannot remember the one I used to use. It is no longer in my bookmarks. It was something with Castle in it, I think.

Anyways, I used https://dicelog.com/dice and got one success.
[ Spoiler ]


Orokos works for me - but I'm not wildly picky.

Karmakaze dredges through her internal facebook of known Seattle-area thugs, and realises that she recognises three out of the five dudes coming from the parking lot. They are known associates of Chin-Ho Huang. In theory, they work in construction, but the scuttlebutt has it that they're better at settling construction-zone disputes on the fringes of the barrens, where mister Huang has a lot of his business.

Maybe they planned a day fishing. Maybe not.
Bastard
QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 10 2021, 08:30 AM) *
I've been using Orokos.com. Don't know if it matters to Fearless Leader.

Thanks. That is one I used before. I even remembered my username and password! Shit's weak!
Bastard
pbangarth

Hope you don't mind, I added a response from Blue within my IC post.
Koekepan
Blue gets one roll, if he's taking the time for looking around and assensing.
pbangarth
Assensing test:

Aura Reading complementary test 3d6t4: 1 success, so no complement

OH! Forgot to add 2 to the target for daytime. Even less of a complement.

Assensing : INT 4, target 4+2 = 6 : 0 successes

Blue has no clue. frown.gif

Woulda had a damn fine idea an hour or two earlier!
pbangarth
This should be fun. frown.gif

Let's hope the potential assailant made a mistake coming close while Blue is astrally perceiving. Nearby magical activity has the potential to give the cuffs a false positive.

I think it's time. Time for Blue to stop being a fish out of water.

Since Blue is perceiving astrally, does the glomoss show on the astral as the device is drawn out of the fannypack?

Is it also time for Initiative rolls?

Does Karmakaze have a chance for Surprise?

Does triggering one of the single-use magic items require a complex or a simple action? I'm assuming one actually has to be touching the item to trigger it, no?

***
How does one slip magecuffs onto the hands of an unwilling magician, before he melts one's brains out one's ears? biggrin.gif

***

Does Blue have a chance to make it to the next evening still free? frown.gif frown.gif
Koekepan
QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 13 2021, 07:42 AM) *
Since Blue is perceiving astrally, does the glomoss show on the astral as the device is drawn out of the fannypack?


Yes, although not immediately. I took the fail on the assensing roll to mean that at that moment, Blue wasn't looking in quite the right direction.

QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 13 2021, 07:42 AM) *
Is it also time for Initiative rolls?


We can go there, yes.

QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 13 2021, 07:42 AM) *
Does Karmakaze have a chance for Surprise?


Definitely.

QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 13 2021, 07:42 AM) *
Does triggering one of the single-use magic items require a complex or a simple action? I'm assuming one actually has to be touching the item to trigger it, no?


Complex, and yes. It's not a sorcerous act, but of course it will show up as a magical one.

QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 13 2021, 07:42 AM) *
***
How does one slip magecuffs onto the hands of an unwilling magician, before he melts one's brains out one's ears? biggrin.gif

***


First, shove the barrel of a Predator down his gullet.

QUOTE (pbangarth @ Mar 13 2021, 07:42 AM) *
Does Blue have a chance to make it to the next evening still free? frown.gif frown.gif


Oh, there's always a chance.
pbangarth
Initiative for Blue:

4 + 1d6: 4 + 6 =10

That's as good as it gets for Blue in the meat!
Bastard
Karma's Rolls:
Initiative: 20 (result says 16 because I put +5 instead of +9)
Reaction (surprise attack) 4 successes if target is 4
[ Spoiler ]

Perception 3 Successes at TN 4, -1TN Perceptive Edge
[ Spoiler ]


If successful, Karma is going to shoot the guy with the mage cuffs with both weapons.

TN Adjustments:
0 Savalette: +1TN for two weapons (Amb Edge), -2 TN for SmartLink, +1TN Recoil (3 Burst, -2 built in comp)
0 Ingram: +1TN for two weapons (Amb Edge),-1 TN for SmartLink, No Recoil (3 Burst, -3 Recoil (w/o stock))

Attacks:
Savalette: 12S damage (burst) 4 Successes at TN4
[ Spoiler ]

Ingram: 10S damage (burst) 3 Successes at TN4
[ Spoiler ]


I screwed up my character. I purchased regular ammo instead of gel rounds. Cause she doesn't want to kill if she doesn't have to. Can I change that?

Sorry for MIA this weekend. I had some personal issues to work through this weekend. But I am much better now.

I will post IC after my results are handled.
pbangarth
Oh, please, please let her have gel rounds! Greater chance of knockdown. Less chance the magecuffs approach eek.gif eek.gif eek.gif Blue.
Koekepan
Bastard:

Glad to hear your problems are resolved.

Given the nature of the character, I will allow the gel round retcon. However, given their reduced power level, as per RAW, I think you might need to reroll?

I'm happy to say that Karmakaze is fine on the perception thing.
Bastard
QUOTE (Koekepan @ Mar 14 2021, 08:32 PM) *
Bastard:

Glad to hear your problems are resolved.

Given the nature of the character, I will allow the gel round retcon. However, given their reduced power level, as per RAW, I think you might need to reroll?

I'm happy to say that Karmakaze is fine on the perception thing.


Do I need to add some combat pool?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Dumpshock Forums © 2001-2012