Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Overpowered Mages and my complaining players
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
FrostyNSO
I have been GMing my group for a few years now and though we've tried rotating the GMing duties every once in a while, it seems the players just like it better when I GM.

Well I moved about 4 hours away and so I've been coming down for a monthly game lately. During my "off-weeks" one of our group will GM a run for those guys while I'm away.

Before this guy would ever GM, and was just a player, he had already bought all of the books, and would often call into question certain house rules I had implemented to speed up the gameplay when neccessary. This guy insisted on sticking to the rules no matter how much it slowed things down or (some say) 'ruined' the moment.

Anyways, this dude when he GM'ed had given 'my' players access to a clearinghouse-type place (similar to crime mall) which also sported a Delta clinic. He gave them unrealistic NPC's that would supply monofilament whips and heavy weapons. Allowed the players to purchase 1000's of rounds of anti-vehicular ammunition from the crime mall. Paid the players huge sums of nuyen for token runs. And this is things the players got access to after 1 or 2 runs! I have always tried to run a 'work your way to the top' kind of game, where the players had to use their contacts a little more, do more footwork, and when violence was required, to do it in a professional manner. This other guy has blown that all to hell within a few gaming sessions.