Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Telescoping Staff
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Wireknight
I have up and until this point miraculously failed to consider the utter unfeasability of a telescoping staff, ala the ones possessed by the comic-book characters Gambit and Robin. If such a weapon did exist, it would require smart materials and nanotech engineering to be able to actually survive hitting someone or being hit, when fully extended. Yet, not only has a telescoping staff been introduced to Shadowrun in Cannon Companion, it is remarkably cheap and easy to acquire(Availability 4/48 Hours; 100 nuyen.gif ).

What were they thinking?
Moon-Hawk
They were probably thinking that they needed a decent reach, somewhat concealable melee weapon to make the monowhip seems less broken. biggrin.gif
I dunno. Maybe it's not a feasible design, I'm not a materials engineer, but it's certainly fun.
I do know that a staff doesn't have to be heavy to be dangerous. A lighter staff can be accelerated more quickly and reach higher speeds, so kinetic transferral isn't decreased as much as you might think. You're just getting more damage from speed than from mass.
lorthazar
They might have been thinking of some of the nice tool steel telescoping staves I have seen. No good for thrusting but man they sting when they hit you on a swing
Wireknight
The lightness isn't an issue of damage, so much as it's an issue of the staff crumpling like a straw when you hit someone with it, at the points of articulation. I've got a collapsible baton, and the closest thing I could imagine to a real-and-true collapsible staff would be two collapsible batons that screw together at the base and have some locking mechanism(since the motion to extend one side would retract the other).