Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: .50AE and Other Monsters
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3
DrJest
I was reading the heavier weapons thread, and there was a certain amount of criticism being levelled at the DE .50AE pistol - how heavy it is, the heavy recoil, the lack of concealibility etc etc. This isn't the first time I've heard this, and since I'm not a firearms expert by any stretch it prompts some questions to those who are. I'd appreciate a layman's overview, although I'm happy to try and tackled technical links smile.gif

1) What is the point of the monster pistols? In real terms, what role are they actually designed to fill?

2) From what I see, our resident gurus don't much rate monster pistols. What calibres do you rate, and are there any particular handguns you favour?

3) If you were a shadowrunner, what calibre handgun would you typically carry on a "day to day" basis? Why?

4) Assuming you were using a rifle or smg as your main weapon, what calibre handgun would you carry on a run? Why?

5) If you were a pistol adept, what calibre handgun would you carry on a run? Why?

6) If you were a pistol adept, would you carry a different calibre handgun for day to day purposes? If so, why?
blakkie
QUOTE (DrJest)
1) What is the point of the monster pistols? In real terms, what role are they actually designed to fill?

The same role as a Corvette? Compensating for certain....shortcomings? wink.gif
Tziluthi
Well, I'm no expert, but the answer to #1 would be, a) hunting pistols, b) novelty items, c) a little compensation. wink.gif

As for 2) .45 ACP is rated as the premier man-stopping round, right? 9mm also seems to be pretty high up there as well.

EDIT: Beat me to it.
TheOneRonin
QUOTE (DrJest)