Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowfox's Shadowrun 4th Edition N00B Questions Compilation
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Shadowfox
So, I'm trying to understand a lot of things within the Shadowrun 4th Edition text, and instead of unintentionally spamming this board with multiple threads asking tons of questions, I'm going to try and compile all of my misunderstandings into one thread, and have them answered one at a time.

I think first and foremost is, do any of you ever play in IRC or AIM chatrooms and/or are there any that I could join/watch just to see how the flow of game play goes?

Secondly, I'd just like to point out how amazing I've found this board to be. Out of all the forums I've ever been on, the people here are not only attentive, knowledgeable, and creative, but nice and articulate. I've been playing DnD for about four years now, and I've been role playing for as long as I've been on chat rooms. Goodness, I remember being 11 years old when Yahoo Chat was first getting big, and going into the role playing room.

Through different cyberpunk influences, I've come to really want to GM a Shadowrun 4th edition campagin, and teach my friends who all play DnD the system and whatnot, and as much of an undertaking as it is (although I'm not starting it until next year once everyone can understand the system), I need to first be able to understand everything myself.

First problem I encountered, involves movement. When a character declares he is walking or running does he have to do it before his actions, or after? Likewise, if he says he's walking 10 m forwards, wants to ready his weapon, and then fire, where does he fire from? Do you do the movement first, then the other two actions, or does it all happen at once? Secondly, what if he declares that he's walking after he's fired his gun as a simple action, do you not move the full 10 m per turn?