Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SURGErs
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Glayvin34
I'm new to SR with the fourth edition, were there any rules for being affected by the SURGE associated with Halley's Comet from the third edition? Were there any other metatypes available?
A "SURGEr" Quality would make sense if you're not already a metatype other than human. You would get a diminished metatype-like set of effects, like +1 to an atrribute or two but you run at half speed because your hooves are cumbersome, or you take a -1 on most social interactions because of your third eye, something like that.
Has this ground been covered already?
mdynna
I was surprised that SR4 didn't have any of the "Changling" (that's what they call those affected by SURGE) traits. What you'll probably have to do is pick up Year of the Comet. That lists all of the SURGE traits. From there they should translate almost directly into Positive and Negative Qualities in SR4.
Kanada Ten
Take the BP cost of buying equvilant cyberware/bioware to gain the effect and then a little more BP for cosmetic surgery, then call it SURGE. Then maybe charge a BP or 2 to round it off. The advantage of not losing the essence is traded for being a freak.
Glayvin34
QUOTE (mdynna)
What you'll probably have to do is pick up Year of the Comet. That lists all of the SURGE traits. From there they should translate almost directly into Positive and Negative Qualities in SR4.

Ah-so. I just downloaded Year of the Comet but I had only gotten a few chapters into it when I posted. There's that whole chapter at the end dealing with Changling traits. Neat-o. Maybe we'll see some 4th ed info on this next year.
The rules are cool, 5 BP to be a "changling", then they have corresponding Negative and Positive SURGE effects. You're supposed to roll 1d6+modifiers to determine how much of each you get. Looks like my GM is about to get the crap bugged out of him.
Shrike30