Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Noob question about Commlinks
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
KCKitsune
OK everyone, noob here and I've got a few questions for everyone. I tried to search for the answer, but failed.

1) Why would anyone buy an off the shelf Commlink when you can get a Meta Link and mod it to Signal & Response 5? Not only is it cheaper, it may make people underestimate you.

2) Firewall is not limited to the Response of the Commlink it's running on. Is System limited? The only reason I ask is because it is not a common or hacking program... I think.

3) The GPS function of Commlinks... why can't it just pull the GPS sat signals from the air? Cell Phones do this today and they are a LOT less advanced than a commlink (and smaller to boot).
Fortune
QUOTE (KCKitsune @ Feb 14 2008, 08:13 PM) *
1) Why would anyone buy an off the shelf Commlink when you can get a Meta Link and mod it to Signal & Response 5? Not only is it cheaper, it may make people underestimate you.

Not every Player cares, and not every character possesses the Matrix savvy to either think of it, or do it themselves.

2) Firewall is not limited to the Response of the Commlink it's running on. Is System limited? The only reason I ask is because it is not a common or hacking program... I think.

You are right that System is not a normal program, but System is specifically listed as being limited.

3) The GPS function of Commlinks... why can't it just pull the GPS sat signals from the air? Cell Phones do this today and they are a LOT less advanced than a commlink (and smaller to boot).

The Powers-That-Be in the Sixth World have decided that giving that technology to the general public is not necessary when you can give the 'close enough' stuff. Why do more than they need to?

OOC Reason: The Orientation System would be somewhat useless if every commlink had that feature.
Bira
QUOTE (KCKitsune @ Feb 14 2008, 07:13 AM) *