Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Recent Update On Shadowrun4.com
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
the_dunner
QUOTE (estradling @ Jun 19 2010, 02:21 PM) *
I am unfamiliar with how con 'events' are set up (total newbie). You've used hours, slots and events apparently interchangeably. Could you please clarify?

Hours = Duration. Almost all RPG events run for four hours.
Slots = Times when events run. Typically, that's 8AM, Noon, 4PM, and 8 PM. However, different cons do different slotting. Some allow more than 4 per day, some allow no more than 3 per day. Some cons insist on meal breaks.
Event = An event entry in the catalog. A single event can include multiple tables which may require multiple GMs. (e.g. the SR Tournament at GenCon Indy has 12-14 tables. I'd also often schedule SRM events with 12 players and 2 GMs, and also have a standby GM for generics.)
As for the GM I'd like to assume equal physical and mental stamina. (I know this is not the case... but then this is a theoretical question)

That's pretty much covered in my recommendations above -- I strongly discourage folks from trying to run more than 20 hours (5 event slots) over the course of the con. Most folks don't realize just how draining it is, when you're competing with all of the other voices in the convention center, gamer funk, sleep deprivation, unhealthy eating, and 10 bajillion other distractions.
Lucyfersam
QUOTE (estradling @ Jun 19 2010, 01:21 PM) *
I am unfamiliar with how con 'events' are set up (total newbie). You've used hours, slots and events apparently interchangeably. Could you please clarify?

As for the GM I'd like to assume equal physical and mental stamina. (I know this is not the case... but then this is a theoretical question)

To break down dunners #s, a theoretical robot GM (as that's pretty much what you'd have to be to hit that maximum) for SR could run 14 events, while the same robot GM could run 112 BattleTech events.